Museum on Site (main site) Kids, Students, Teachers Online Showcases Blogerim (blog)

Scouring Pads for
Separate Sets of Dishes

scouring pades in package

Jewish dietary law ("kashrut" in Hebrew) distinguishes between permitted and forbidden foods. Foods that may be eaten are called "kosher." Most of the kashrut rules are contained in the Torah, or the Hebrew Bible, and one of the most important forbids Jews to eat meat and milk products at the same time. In a traditional religious household, meat is therefore never served in a cream sauce, and butter may not be used to fry meat. Jews are also required to separate the utensils that come into contact with food. This means that they must always have two sets of dishes, pots, silverware, frying pans, towels, and scouring pads.

To ensure that nothing gets mixed up, the utensils are usually color-coded or marked with stickers or tags. This package of scouring pads from the United States promises "No more 'kitchen confusion'!" The blue pad is meant for dishes used for milk, the red for utensils for meat, and the green for dishes that come into contact with food containing neither meat nor milk. These neutral types of food—fruit, vegetables, and also certain types of fish—are called "pareve."

If religious Jews in Germany want to buy products for a kosher household, they must order them from stores in the United States and Israel, which ship all the necessary items worldwide.

Object Details:
Scouring pads for separate sets of dishes
Mark-It Internationally
Deal, New Jersey, U.S.A., 1986–2000
25 x 12.6 x 6 cm


A Jewish woman during ritual cleansing, illustration from a prayer book, Germany 1427-1428
© Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek »Carl von Ossietzky«, Hamburg

uncover picture
Stay in touch