_
Museum on Site (main site) Kids, Students, Teachers Online Showcases Blogerim (blog)

Viewing the Collections


Other museums and cultural institutions undertaking exhibition and research projects are welcome to send representatives to view and use the Jewish Museum's collections. Please contact the curators of the individual collections for further information:

Portrait drawing of Philipp Manes

Arthur Goldschmidt, Portrait drawing of Philipp Manes, Theresienstadt August 1944

Ceremonial objects and the applied arts: Michal S. Friedlander (tel.: +49 (0)30 259 93 511, e-mail: m.friedlander[at]jmberlin.de)

Fine arts: Inka Bertz (tel.: +49 (0)30 259 93 414, e-mail: i.bertz[at]jmberlin.de)

Photography: Theresia Ziehe (tel.: +49 (0)30 259 93 561, e-mail: t.ziehe[at]jmberlin.de)

Everyday and family history: Leonore Maier (tel.: +49 (0)30 259 93 455, e-mail: l.maier[at]jmberlin.de)

Library: Ulrike Sonnemann (tel.: +49 (0)30 259 93 564, e-mail: u.sonnemann[at]jmberlin.de)

Archives: Aubrey Pomerance (tel.: +49 (0)30 259 93 556, e-mail: a.pomerance[at]jmberlin.de)

Link to the Library and Archive Reading Room (for opening hours and information on the holdings of the library and the archive).

Please contact Valeska Wolfgram (Tel.: +49 (0)30 259 93 433, e-mail: v.wolfgram[at]jmberlin.de) for photographic reproductions of individual objects, their cost and reproduction conditions.

Information on the development of the collections can be found in the Jewish Museum Berlin Journal and in the Museum's annual reports.

There is a general overview and numerous illustrations of objects from the collections in both the book on the Museum's permanent exhibition entitled "Stories of an Exhibition. Two Millennia of German-Jewish History" (Jewish Museum Berlin) 2001 and in the booklet "Jewish Museum Berlin. Concept and Vision, Berlin (Jewish Museum), 1999." Individual objects or family collections were presented in the series "Zeitzeugnisse aus dem Jüdischen Museum Berlin."

The painting holdings have been listed in the following handbook since its fourth edition in 2005: Hans F. Schweers, Gemälde in deutschen Museen: Katalog der ausgestellten und depotgelagerten Werke (Paintings in German museums: Catalogue of exhibited works and depository holdings) fourth revised and extended edition, Munich: Saur, 2005.

Additionally, prior to the founding of the Jewish Museum Berlin in 1999, individual collection areas were published, primarily in the Berlin Museum catalogs. The bibliographical information can be found here (in German):

Please help us, ...

... improve our website by answering a short number of questions
(duration: 1 minute)

Stay in touch